I Love Explanation

I love it when the author (a person who writes something) of an article explains what they mean. I have been reading for well over 55 years. One of the things that I have observed from those who attempt to explain ideas, concepts, practices, and procedures is that they assume everyone knows the vocabulary they are using. There is always a starting point for the beginner to be initiated. Let’s remember that whether we are involved in professional development for teachers or helping students there will always be a need to let them know what we mean when we say something.

Sometimes the simplest explanations are the most beneficial. Having entered the world of GitHub I am attempting to learn the purpose, process, procedures, and vocabulary. I am sure that everyone in the world of coding knows the context and meaning of the word “Repository” except for this newbie. So it is always a great joy when someone does not assume that I know the jargon but includes snippets of explanation that help me along the journey.

It is now with great confidence that I know that a Repository is a Folder. Thanks LifeHacker

local code repository (just a folder containing code for your project) LifeHacker

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

Post a comment

You may use the following HTML:
<a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>